Character Creation

Character Creation

Here are the very basics for creating a Vampire character.

Step One: Concept

Choose a concept. Come up with three Aspirations. Choose Mask and Dirge

Authoritarian , Child , Competitor,  Conformist,  Conspirator,  Courtesan,  Cult Leader,  Deviant,  Follower,  Guru,  Idealist,  Jester,  Junkie,  Martyr,  Masochist,  Monster,  Nomad,  Nurturer,  Perfectionist,  Penitent,  Questioner,  Rebel,  Scholar,  Social Chameleon,  Spy,  Survivor,  Visionary

Step Two: Attributes

Prioritize categories. They receive 5/4/3 dots, distributed in any combination.

Step Three: Skills

Prioritize categories. They receive 11/7/4 dots, distributed however.

Step Four: Skill Specialties

Choose three Skill Specialties.

Step Five: Add Kindred Traits

Choose clan, covenant, Dirge, Mask, Touchstone, Blood Potency, and Disciplines.

Step Six: Add Merits

Select ten dots of Merits.

Choose ten dots’ worth of Merits. Kindred may also possess any of the Merits from The World of Darkness Rulebook or The God-Machine Chronicle, except for those on the Supernatural Merits list, and both Vice-Ridden and Virtuous (since Kindred do not have Virtue and Vice traits). As well, we’ve provided an extensive list of Kindred-specific Merits on p. 109

List of merits

Step Seven: Advantages

Willpower is equal to Resolve + Composure.
Humanity is 7. Size is 5.
Health is Size + Stamina + Resilience.
Speed is Size + Strength + Dexterity
Defense is the lower of Dexterity and Wits, + Athletics + Celerity
Initiative Modifier is Dexterity + Composure.

Experienced Kindred

Storytellers may choose to allow players to make more experienced characters to start play. These bonus Experiences allow characters to start beyond that level.

Around the block  5
Rising star              10
Ancilla                     15
Rank elder              25
Mover and shaker 35
Urban Legend        50
Methuselah            100

Kindred Template


Choose the clan to which your vampire belongs.


Hungry, passionate, seductive.
Daeva Disciplines: Celerity, Majesty, Vigor
Dexterity or Manipulation

The Wanton Curse

Daeva immerse themselves in the mortal world; it not only feeds them, it compels them. When Daeva choose vessels, they become obsessed. When they drink from a mortal once, they’re fine. On their second and further drinks from the same source, roll Humanity. Failure causes the Persistent Dependent Condition toward the mortal (see p.302). The Condition only goes away with the mortal’s death. For this reason, Daeva tend toward either remarkable promiscuity, or they cultivate massive harems and herds.


Primal, hardy, feral.
Gangrel Disciplines: Animalism, Protean, Resilience
Composure or Stamina

The Feral Curse

Gangrel Beasts boil close to the surface. A Gangrel can run with the devil inside her, but has difficulty fighting it. All her dice pools to resist frenzy are limited by her Humanity dots. This weakness does not affect dice pools to ride the wave.


Quiet, cunning, knowing.
Mekhet Disciplines: Auspex, Celerity, Obfuscate
Intelligence or Wits

The Tenebrous Curse

Mekhet blood is the blood of shadows. Their Requiem is one of secrecy and symbolism. For this reason, Mekhet each suffer a single bane that is not tied to a breaking point. When the Mekhet reaches Humanity 6, choose a bane (see p. 108 for banes). This bane counts toward the three banes a vampire is allowed, so a Mekhet is less able to mitigate detachment. As well, consider a Mekhet’s Humanity to be one dot lower for all Humanity-based banes (including sunlight and torpor).


Unsettling, mysterious, fearsome.
Nosferatu Disciplines: Nightmare, Obfuscate, Vigor
Composure or Strength

The Lonely Curse

Nosferatu embody fear, disgust, and all manner of uncomfortable feelings. Some are inhumanly ugly. Some have a gaze that makes a person feel violated. Every Nosferatu has something that stands in the way of normal relationships. When dealing with humans, treat the Nosferatu’s Humanity as two dots lower for the purpose of Social penalties, and treat any Presence and Manipulation failures as dramatic failures. This bane does not apply to interactions with Touchstones or Kindred.


Unflappable, domineering, confident.
Ventrue Disciplines: Animalism, Dominate, Resilience
Presence or Resolve

The Aloof Curse

The Ventrue are confident. Why wouldn’t they be? They’re clearly superior. This attitude frequently causes Lords conflict, as they treat all those around them as objects. When creating a Ventrue, apply his first Touchstone to his seventh dot of Humanity. This means his first Humanity loss will also detach that Touchstone as the bane takes effect. Further Touchstones may fill his sixth through second dots.


Choose a covenant to which your character claims membership.

The Carthian Movement applies mortal solutions to immortal problems with modern and experimental

The Circle of the Crone venerates female divinity, painful change, and the old ways remixed for the modern world.

The Invictus safeguards the Masquerade with hierarchy and tradition.

The Lancea et Sanctum preaches a dark faith; they are both wolves and shepherds.

The Ordo Dracul struggles to transcend the Curses through eldritch alchemies and rites.

Blood Potency

Blood Potency starts at 1 dot. Additional dots may be purchased with five Merit points each. A maximum of
two dots may be purchased in this way.


Each character starts with three dots of Disciplines, at least two of which must be in clan.
Animalism: The ability to communicate with and command animals.
Auspex: Forbidden understanding and senses.
Celerity: Impossible speed.
Coils of the Dragon: Secrets that transcend the Curse.
Crúac: The terrifying rituals of the Circle of the Crone.
Dominate: The ability to control the mind.
Majesty: The power to command trust and adoration.
Nightmare: The power to harness terror.
Obfuscate: Powers of stealth and distraction.
Protean: The power to change shape.
Resilience: Immense toughness.
Theban Sorcery: The dark miracles of the Lancea et Sanctum.
Vigor: Inhuman strength.

Experience Costs

Attribute: 4 Experiences per dot
Merit: 1 Experience per dot
Skill Specialty: 1 Experience
Skill: 2 Experiences per dot
Clan Discipline: 3 Experiences per dot
Out-of-Clan Discipline: 4 Experiences per dot
Coil of the Dragon, within chosen Mystery: 3 Experiences per dot
Coil of the Dragon, outside chosen Mystery: 4 Experiences per dot
Crúac: 4 Experiences per dot
Theban Sorcery: 4 Experiences per dot
Blood Sorcery Ritual: 2 Experiences
Scale of the Dragon: 2 Experiences
Humanity: 2 Experiences per dot
Blood Potency: 5 Experiences per dot
Lost Willpower dot: 1 Experience